• vmmahavidyalaya@gmail.com
  • 03224 286223 / 03224 287440
Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya

Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya বিবেকানন্দ মিশন মহাবিদ্যালয়

NAAC Accredited College

Affiliated to Vidyasagar University

Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya

Department of Physics

About the Department

To impart higher education in the then rural backward locality Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya was
established on the auspicious and historic day of 9 th August,1968 with arts stream under the Calcutta
University by the Vivekananda Mission Ashram, Chaitanyapur. 2 year B.Sc. course in pure Science was
introduced in 1986-87 session under Vidyasagar University. To maintain uniformity with all the Indian
pattern prescribed by UGC, 3 year general degree course was introduced in 1999-2000. To meet the
need of the locality with growing population due to industrial development of Haldia, 3 year honours
degree course in physics was introduced in 2005-2006 session, although affiliation of Vidyasagar
University received from 2004-05 as a self-financing course. At present 3 year semester CBCS system for
general and honours courses are going on introduced from July 2017.
Two full time teachers and two full time laboratory attendants were sanctioned by respective authority
for running the said course. To cope with the situation few guest teachers have been appointed. Besides
the traditional lecture method, white board with marker pen, LCD-Projector, have been introduced.
The department has well equipped laboratory for General, GE and core courses, but we have to improve
further. The department have its own library facilities and major instruments as per V.U practical
syllabus. At present our department is facing a shortage of full time teaching faculty members as well as
laboratory staff. The college authority is trying to overcome the situation by appointing guest teachers.
Facilities offered

1. Departmental library
2. Minor Research Laboratory
(Materials Synthesis at low temperature and Nitrogen gas medium)


Coming Soon


Dr. Atanu Jana
Designation : Head, Associate Professor
Qualification : M.Sc., Ph.D.

Dr. Susnata Bera
Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualification : M.Sc., Ph.D.

Prof. Manabendra Maiti
Designation : Guest Faculty
Qualification : M.Sc.

Prof. Shib Narayan Manna
Designation : Guest Faculty
Qualification : M.Sc.

Prof. Manas Maity
Designation : Guest Faculty
Qualification : M.Sc.

Photo Gallery